You were my first love. You will be my last one. Your voice was one of the very first I ever heard… And every cell in my body dances to the beat of it for you breath life into me. Ever since I was a child, I used to joke around that I loved you more than I loved Ami. Today, I’m telling you that I honestly, truly did. And I think I will even do so forever. The best moments of my life have been spent with you. Even though they might have not been huge, some of them even turned out to be better than the big ones. 

What changed? Nothing. That would be the answer to all your feelings of regret. Every night when I fall asleep, I see your face. And there are nights that your face appears to be disturbed. Those are the nights I find it hardest to sleep. I fear losing you. I fear not waking up to your smile. It means a lot to me. Your smile brings me hope. For myself, for you and for this dark world. I think of it in the toughest of my days. I vision it when I’m unsure of being myself.

Sometimes, when I see you distraught, it breaks me. You have so much to worry about and you work yourself out. I want to assure you, this world is big. So are the opportunities. Life is too complicated to cause yourself all the pain you do and we or at least I want you to know that I’m here to share it with you. Even though I may be hard to understand, I want you to know that I understand. I feel strong enough to feel your pain when I see your disturbed sleep. I see things concentrated enough to know everything that might be a cause for a bother to you. I may not seem to be there for you always but you are the centre of my world. 

Finally, I want you to know that no matter what happens, you’ll always find comfort by me because I may not seem as much to you, but I’m more than enough to take away all your miseries, be it temporarily. And that I’ll never do anything that would hurt your feelings or hopes or expectations, intentionally.  

Happy Father’s Day! Thank you for being my father 

Love;

Fareya 

Leave a Reply

